Cooperation and Financing

Cooperation & Support to the Ecosystem

This category of activities refers to capacity building and advisory actions that are not related to projects, but which are intended for both public and private stakeholders working in the field of energy efficiency, whether in Morocco or abroad. These services consist in building on the experience and data acquired during the implementation of projects where SIE was a partner, in order to support the sectoral authorities in strengthening and developing measures for the promotion of projects and the emergence of a local energy efficiency sector. These activities can be divided into three major types of services :

  • The dissemination of expertise at the national and international levels in the area of energy efficiency project management, based on the experience acquired by SIE (preparation, structuring and implementation of an EPC, standard contract models, etc.) ;
  • Support for businesses (SMEs and ESCOs) and local professional federations working in the sector, to promote innovation and the emergence of local players (for example: popularization, advice on financing options (partnership with banks, financing and guarantee institutions, organizations that support SMEs, agreements with partners), sharing of know-how, technical capacity-building programs (staff and investors), co-development of pilot projects with local start-ups, promoting interactions among decision-makers, private ESCOs, financial institutions, and end-customers. Furthermore, the field of financial intermediation by SIE is to be considered in order to improve access to financing for local ESCOs and SMEs ;
  • The provision of data on the outcomes of energy efficiency projects and their social and environmental impacts for the relevant authorities: recommendations on regulatory and institutional aspects of EE projects, compilation of data, monitoring of legal requirements, market studies.

In addition, SIE performs the role of a focal point for international financial institutions wishing to take part in Morocco's energy efficiency projects.

Lastly, SIE takes an active part in international cooperation between Morocco and its partners, especially in Africa. The Company offers its foreign counterparts or international contractors a whole range of services, including technical assistance, capacity building and feedback, to enhance the skills and expertise of the Moroccan ecosystem.

 

Project Structuring

As a Super ESCO, SIE provides its partners with expertise and experience in order to leverage investments in the energy efficiency sector. In addition to technical considerations, SIE contributes its know-how in mobilizing financing with the aim of maximizing energy savings, and conducts the financial structuring of its projects according to an integrated approach, based on :

  • Comprehensive assessment of the project's technical characteristics, focusing on the determination or identification of the most affordable technical solution to achieve the project objectives ;
  • Financial analysis of the project, bringing into line the energy saving potential and the gains achieved on energy bills, investments needed, depreciation of installations and equipment, as well as the risks related to the project ;
  • Identification of the most appropriate financing scheme for the project and its beneficiary.

Within the framework of its mission, SIE keeps working, in collaboration with its financial partners, to diversify the existing financing offer on the Energy Efficiency market, by setting up new levers and mechanisms for financing and guarantee. The objective is to promote access of the sector's stakeholders to financing, and achieve the successful completion of projects.

Support for Project Financing

The financing of an energy efficiency project can be achieved by :

  • The clients themselves, from their own resources ;
  • Funding from a lender ;
  • An ESCO, as part of an energy performance contract (EPC).

SIE supports its partners in identifying the most appropriate financing solution for their projects. The Company makes use of its technical expertise and proven knowledge of the various financial mechanisms and instruments available on the market.

Depending on the nature of the project and its promoter, SIE may :

  • Direct the promoter of a State-sponsored project, subject to some conditions, to funding agencies for the mobilization of loans to finance the relevant energy efficiency project ;
  • Recommend project promoters to seek dedicated credit lines, taking into account the nature of the project, the risks and the eligibility criteria of the said credit lines ;
  • Assist and support its clients, using its technical and financial expertise, in carrying out the financial and technical pre-analysis needed to assess the project feasibility.

 

Partnership

Considering the royal guidelines aimed at strengthening the duty of public administrations to set the example in energy efficiency, SIE managed to establish many partnership frameworks for the implementation of energy efficiency measures in cooperation with many public institutions.

Recognizing the importance of carefully tailored financing solutions, according to the different types of projects and project promoters, SIE develops prospecting actions with several financial partners, such as donors, commercial banks, or again loan guarantee institutions for establishing appropriate credit and guarantee lines to the benefit of energy efficiency projects falling within its mandate.

The private financial sector is also approached to determine its appetite and its financial competitiveness for similar purposes. The ultimate goal is to provide energy efficiency players with access to optimal financing solutions whenever this is required by a project.

Coopération et Financement

Coopération & Soutien à l’écosystème

Cette catégorie d’activité se réfère aux actions de renforcement des capacités et de conseil non-liées aux projets s’adressant aux intervenants publics, privés, nationaux et internationaux de l’efficacité énergétique. Ces services consistent en la valorisation de l’expérience et des données acquises lors des projets dans lesquels la SIE a été impliquée, pour appuyer les autorités sectorielles dans le renforcement et le développement de mesures visant à favoriser les projets et l’émergence d’une filière d’efficacité énergétique locale. Ces activités peuvent se répartir en trois grands types services :

  • La diffusion d’expertise au niveau national et international en matière de management des projets d’efficacité énergétique sur la base de l’expérience acquise par la SIE (préparation, structuration et mise en place d’un CPE, modèles de contrats standardisés, etc.)
  • L’appui aux entreprises (PME et ESCOs) et fédérations professionnelles locales de la filière pour favoriser l’innovation et l’émergence d’acteurs locaux (par exemple : vulgarisation, conseil portant sur les options de financement (partenariat avec des banques, des organismes de financement et de garantie, institutions qui soutiennent les PME, conventions avec des partenaires), partage de savoir-faire, programmes de renforcement des capacités techniques (personnel et investisseurs), co-développement de projets pilotes avec des start-ups locales, facilitation des interactions entre les décideurs, les ESCOs du secteur privé, les institutions financières, et les clients finaux. Également, le chantier de l’intermédiation financière par la SIE est à envisager afin de faciliter l’accès au financement aux ESCOs et PME locales.
  • La mise à disposition de données sur les résultats des projets d’efficacité énergétique et sur leur impact sociaux et environnementaux pour les autorités concernées : recommandations portant sur les aspects réglementaires et institutionnels concernant les projets d’EE, compilation de données, veille sur les exigences légales, études de marché.

Aussi, la SIE est un point focal des institutions financières internationales souhaitant être impliquées dans les projets d’efficacité énergétique au Maroc.

Enfin, la SIE s’insère dans les coopérations internationales entre le Maroc et ses partenaires, en particulier en Afrique. La SIE propose à ses homologues étrangers ou maitres d’ouvrages internationaux, des services d’assistance technique, de renforcement de capacité et des retours d’expérience, valorisant la compétence et l’expertise de l’écosystème marocain.

 

Structuration des projets

La Super ESCO met à la disposition de ses partenaires son expertise et son expérience afin de rentabiliser les investissements liés au secteur de l’efficacité énergétique. En plus des considérations techniques, la SIE apporte son savoir-faire en matière de mobilisation de financements avec l’objectif de maximiser les économies d’énergie, entreprend la structuration financière de ses projets selon une approche intégrée reposant sur :

  • L’évaluation complète des caractéristiques techniques du projet axée sur la détermination ou l’identification de la solution technique la plus abordable pour atteindre les objectifs du projet.
  • L’analyse financière du projet mettant en adéquation le potentiel d’économie d’énergie et les gains réalisés sur les factures énergétiques, les investissements à mobiliser, l’amortissement des installations et des équipements, ainsi que les risques liés au projet.
  • L’identification du schéma de financement le plus approprié au projet et à son bénéficiaire.

Dans le cadre de ses missions la SIE, en collaboration avec ses partenaires financiers, œuvre pour diversifier l’offre de financement existante sur le marché de l’Efficacité Energétique à travers la mise en place de nouveaux leviers et mécanismes de financements et de garanties. L’objectif est de permettre aux différents acteurs du secteur d’accéder à des financements permettant la réalisation des projets avec succès.

Soutien au financement des projets

Le financement d’un projet d’efficacité énergétique peut être réalisé par :

  • Le client lui-même, à partir de ses fonds propres
  • Un financement octroyé par un prêteur ;
  • Une Esco, dans le cadre d’un contrat de performance énergétique (CPE)

La SIE apporte son soutien à ses partenaires pour l’identification de la solution de financement la plus appropriée à leurs projets. Elle s’appuie sur son expertise technique et sa bonne connaissance des différents mécanismes et instruments financiers disponibles sur le marché.

Considérant la nature du projet et de son porteur, la SIE peut :

  • Sous réserve de certaines conditions, orienter le porteur du projet étatique vers des bailleurs de fonds pour la mobilisation de prêts pour le financement de leur projet d’efficacité énergétique.
  • Orienter aussi les porteurs de projets vers des lignes de crédits dédiées en tenant compte de la nature des projets, des risques et des critères d’éligibilité des dites lignes de crédits.
  • En s’appuyant sur son expertise technique et financière, assister et accompagner ses clients dans la réalisation de préanalyses financières et techniques permettant d’évaluer la faisabilité du projet.

 

Partenariat

Considérant les orientations royales visant à densifier la force d’exemplarité de l’administration publique en matière d’efficacité énergétique, la SIE a établi plusieurs cadres de coopérations et de partenariats pour le déploiement de mesures d’efficacité énergétique avec nombreux acteurs du secteur public.

Consciente de l’importance de disposer de solutions de financement adaptées aux différentes natures de projets et aux différents porteurs de projets, la SIE développe des actions de prospection auprès de plusieurs partenaires financiers tels que des bailleurs de fonds, des banques commerciales ou encore des organismes de garanties pour la mise en place de lignes de crédits et de garanties appropriées aux projets d’efficacité énergétique entrant dans son mandat.

Le secteur financier privé est aussi approché pour mesurer son appétit et sa compétitivité financière à des fins identiques. L’objectif final est de permettre aux acteurs du secteur de l’efficacité énergétique l’accès à des solutions de financements optimales chaque fois que cela est requis par les projets.